How to Choose Your Major in College

Choosing a major in college is not hard.
Choosing the right major in college for you is.

I’m a freshman in college and I’m pretty much “fresh outta high school”. This is my 2nd semester in college and I’m pretty much satisfied with how my collegepinterest-style works. The system, the structure…everything. I’m pretty sure, most of us have gone through this phase, going from a high school student to a college student.

So now, we’re in college! That’s great. We got everything settled. But there is this one tiny bit of a problem. Most of the college freshmen around the world are going to college….UNDECIDED! Which makes sense for us to not know what we want at this age.

So I’m going to share with you some tips that I followed when I was making my final decision.

(FUN FACT No.1: I was an International Business major before I switched to Communication.)
(FUN FACT No.2: When I was in high school, we had to choose our majors somewhere between 11th and 12th grade.)

1. Do not rush! Now this is a mistake that I did before I even entered college. I rushed to choose my major. I didn’t take the time to search about the different majors that my college had to offer so I just went with what I wanted to major back in high school. Take your time on choosing your major and make sure to search in your college, the different majors that it has to offer and be open about the different options out there.

2. Check out the courses that your major requires. This something that I did before I started college and when I switched majors. It is a good idea to check out the courses of your major, just for you to have an idea with what you’re dealing with and also if there is a subject that you think you’ll not be good at, then you’ll have plenty of time to work on that. It also helps for you to evaluate and have an idea of your strengths and weaknesses and how the major will be in college.

3. Choose a major that you see yourself doing in the far future. Now this is really important. If you cannot see yourself doing what you majored in, in 10 years then are you sure you want to major in that. For example, I was an International Business major and although I didn’t hate the major, I couldn’t see myself doing that completely in the future and I started getting depressed. So, I figured that since I really love blogging, social media, writing and video editing and I needed and wanted to learn more about those things and Communication was something that I could see myself doing in the future, I decided to make Communication my major and International Business my minor.

4. Do not let your parents interfere with your decision. And by all means, do not take that as not listening to what your parents have to say. Your parents care about you and want what’s best for you and they are just giving you their opinion but at the end of the day, it’s your decision to make.

5. At the end of the day, it’s all about your life and your happiness. If you’re happy with what you’re currently doing? That’s great! If you’re still undecided, that’s great too because you’re still experimenting around. But by all means, it’s about you and your won future.

Before I end this article, I would like to share my story which relates to this blog post.
Click the link to watch: STORY TIME: I Took the Biggest Decision of My Life

Conclusion? It’s college. You’re fresh outta high school and you just turned into an adult. It is normal to not know what you want to be. So, just take your time and choose what would make you the happiest in the future. And do that at your own pace.

Leave a Reply

