Being an Expat: Misconception #2

WHEN IN ATHENS

“Oh my God you live in Greece. Your life must be like a vacation.”

Another LOL moment.

There is quite a difference between vacationing and living somewhere… let me tell you. Especially somewhere that is becoming increasingly, insanely, unstable. I say this keeping all the love and adoration I’ve always had for this country in my heart… but honestly, it’s been one hell of a ride.

I remember visiting here very intrigued with the fact that people made time to go out late even on a Tuesday night.

81_athens-nightlife-2

Every day was like a celebration it seemed like. It wasn’t until I came here that I understood (for the most part) why that was possible. Yes, it’s in the culture to enjoy yourself above all else, which I still like as a philosophy… to an extent. But the truth is, there is an unemployment rate for young people, now with the…

View original post 975 more words

Leave a Reply

